Yenra : Music : Essential Bob Dylan : Best of all time

Essential Bob Dylan

The Essential Bob Dylan

Track Listings: Disc: 1 1. Blowin' In The Wind 2. Don't Think Twice It's All Right 3. Times They Are A' Changin', The 4. It Ain't Me, Babe 5. Maggie's Farm 6. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue 7. Mr. Tambourine Man 8. Subterranean Homesick Blues 9. Like A Rolling Stone 10. Positively 4th Street 11. Just Like A Woman 12. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35 13. All Along The Watchtower 14. Quinn The Eskimo 15. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight Disc: 2 1. Lay Lady Lay 2. If Not For You 3. I Shall Be Released 4. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere 5. Knockin' On Heaven's Door 6. Forever Young 7. Tangled Up In Blue 8. Shelter From The Storm 9. Hurricane 10. Gotta Serve Somebody 11. Jokerman 12. Silvio 13. Everything Is Broken 14. Not Dark Yet 15. Things Have Changed

Two discs of music don't exactly provide for a thorough overview of four decades of recording, particularly if the subject of the retrospective is one of the most important and prolific performers of his time. So The Essential Bob Dylan definitely skates over the leagues-deep oeuvre of Dylan, summarizing his monumental first half-dozen years in disc one and skirting over the following 34 years in disc two. Delving into Columbia's three Dylan greatest-hits packages (though curiously purging "I Want You," a genuine hit single in its day), Essential offers only a few surprises, opting for The Basement Tapes version of "Quinn the Eskimo" over the Self Portrait remake that made it onto Greatest Hits Volume II and tossing in "Things Have Changed" from the Wonder Boys soundtrack for completists.